The Circus

Recently the circus was in town.  For the past few years we have planned to make it to the circus but for some reason have had a conflict.  This year when we realized the circus was coming, we made plans to go.  Our week had been really crazy dealing with our house and Jack had been sick but we were determined to go to the circus.  Travis ended up getting tickets for a great deal to opening night on Craigslist.  Our seats were awesome and even though Jack was still feeling cruddy from nasty allergies, we all had a fabulous time.

This was the first time to the circus for me and the boys.  I remember going to the very small version of the circus that came to Alturas a few times when I was little but it was nothing like the real circus.  I think I was as excited as the kids were.  The animals were a big hit with both boys.  Garrett loved the trapeze artists and Jack thought the motorcycles riding inside the sphere was pretty neat.  I’ve got to be honest, the trapeze artists made me a little nauseous.  All the flipping and catching the bar was a little more than I could handle.  I’m not usually one to get worried or queasy over things like that, but it sort of freaked me out.  I enjoyed the show but, ugh, I’m not sure about the trapeze!

I’m quite sure there were two highlights to the night for the boys.  First off, when the show was about to start and we were heading to our seats an usher handed us flashing clown noses.  Garrett wore the clown nose almost the entire night.  He loved it.  Off and on, off and on.  He played with it the whole time he watched the show.  It was super cute.  Jack liked his too, but since part of his not feeling well was a yucky nose, I don’t think he was as much of a fan of actually wearing the nose.  The other big deal of the night was that we let them each have  a snow cone in a special take home clown cup.  We are pretty strict about food, so a treat like that was a huge deal!  Both boys were covered in an array of syrup colors and luckily only ate about 1/3 of the giant snow cone.  The cups are adorable and I’m sure will get lots of use this summer with ice cream.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

