Garrett Turns 2!

Our baby boy turned two this week.  In a blink of an eye, we are in the throes of toddlerhood.  Luckily, the good outweighs the bad…so far. **wink, wink**  Here is the big Garrett update, so if you don’t want the nitty-gritty of the G Man you can stop reading now.  Otherwise, you’re gonna get the full 2-year-old update!

Garrett is so much fun!  He is a sweet-natured, focused, talkative, funny little man who still loves the nihnt nihnt (aka breast milk).  He says funny little things and now carries on conversations all the time.  He is starting to hold his own with his brother and put Jack in his place.  He loves all sports, but he especially loves to watch hockey and play golf, baseball and soccer.  He is very patient and likes to color.  He can now hold his pen/pencil/crayon correctly and is definitely right-handed.  And he is extremely coordinated.  In fact, in most things he is even more coordinated than his brother.  G is growing bigger, but continues to be pretty darn tiny.  I was sure he was about 24 lbs., but after weighing him on every scale that crossed our path in Montana, there is no way he is more than 21 lbs.  However, he out eats his brother at most meals and can often be found cleaning everyone’s dinner plates 5 minutes after leaving the table.  I don’t know where he puts that food!

Garrett is our jokester.  He is always teasing us and has even mastered the art of the setup.  On a recent road trip, he fooled me.  Travis was driving and I had given the kids snacks in a snack trap style container.  G started calling for me and saying “I’m stuck” in a muffled voice.  I turned around and saw the snack trap attached to his face, covering his mouth and nose.  I unbuckled and quickly turned around to help him.  As soon as I reached for him, he pulled it down and started laughing hysterically.  I was a little shocked that even before 2 years old, he could trick me.  I have to watch out ’cause he is always trying to tease us.  It is so damn cute!

Garrett is adventurous but he also knows his limits.  I never have to worry that he’ll do things outside his limits.  That’s not to say he isn’t all boy and getting his fair share of bumps and bruises, but he only goes as far as he is comfortable even if it means that he needs to be rescued.  Luckily, he’ll just stay put until someone can help him.  He is very patient that way.  This quality is a big plus for Mama ’cause I generally have my work cut out for me keeping up with Jack.  It is nice to know that G generally keeps himself in line on the safety side of things!  He keeps Jack in line too.  He is always looking out for his big brother.  If Jack goes too far, too fast or is just getting into something, G is the first to pull him back.  It is pretty common to hear G yelling “Be careful Jackie!” or “Jack, be safe.”  I bet you can’t guess how often he hears that same phrase coming from my mouth directed to Jack?! 

Garrett is doing well with his letters, numbers/counting and learning colors.  We recently realized that he recognizes his colors pretty accurately.  We didn’t really feel like we worked on it, just all of a sudden he knew them.  He can sing his alphabet and count well forwards and backwards, thanks to Stroller Strides.  And most of all G loves to sing.  He sings lots of songs, but his favorite is the National Anthem.  The boys learned it from going to so many hockey games and it sticks around as a go to attention getter.  While we were in Montana, Garrett entertained half of Fort Benton by standing under a flag on the main street and belting out the National Anthem.  This was especially appropriate since we were at the Summer Celebration waiting for the parade to begin.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen so many little old ladies so proud that a little one can sing the National Anthem.  Of course he calls it “Oh, Say Can You See”, which is also his name for the American Flag.  It all goes together, you know.

G continues to nurse.  I’m not sure how long he will, but for now it is working for both of us.  He has cut down to just 2 or 3 times most days and I can fend him off often if he asks.  He still asks pathetically, like he knows he probably shouldn’t be asking to indulge but is hoping I’ll say yes. Most of the time I think it is cute, sometimes I think it is an attempt to distract me from disciplining or to get attention away from Jack.  I asked G last night (while he was nursing) if he was going to nurse always while he is a 2-year-old and he nodded.  Then I asked if he would nurse when he was a 3-year-old and he nodded.  Then I asked if he was gonna nurse forever, he gave me a sly smile and nodded.  Of course, most nursing sessions are capped off with him pulling off and saying “That was YUMMY nihnt nihnt!”  I figure when the time is right, he will just give it up.  (Thanks Elizabeth for helping me to realize that nursing doesn’t last forever and as long as it is going well for everyone, it is okay to take the wait and see approach!)  For now, I can say that I have nursed my child for 2 years.  That feels like a pretty important accomplishment on the Mom list.

This summer G has started going to the same summer camp as Jack for 2 days per week and in the fall he will go to preschool 3 days per week.  I’m excited for his new independence and proud of him for taking it all in stride.  I see our little baby turning into a little boy and it is nice, mostly.  I love the independence, I love the conversations, I love to watch him grow, but I cherish my babies and it is hard to see some of that ending.  We are starting to potty train and I can tell already that in a split second, G will be starting Kindergarten.  He is a special boy and we are enjoying his personality so much.  Happy 2nd Birthday G!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

