Christmas Tree

For the first time in several years we actually got a Christmas tree before December 23rd!  I can’t tell you how happy this makes me.  I don’t think I can really get into the Christmas spirit until I have a tree to enjoy! 

Growing up we always got a permit and went up in the mountains to cut our own Christmas trees down.  We often got little trees for our bedrooms and a huge tree for the house.  The trees were beautiful and almost always the day included a ton of sledding.  I have fond memories of getting Christmas trees.  Getting a tree in the DC area is a little less exciting.  It usually includes a trip to several big box home improvement stores checking out the trees, followed by a few stops at smaller tree lots in which we find the prices ridiculous.  This year we went back to a lot that we have gotten trees at before.  They are a family from South of Eugene, OR that grows their trees and trucks them back east on their own.  I love their trees because they always have a few types of fir trees, which is what we often had growing up.  We still paid a pretty penny but at least the tree is pretty!

The day we chose to get our tree, it poured rain.  Jack and I quickly picked out a few to choose from and Travis made the final decision.  He is much better at realizing what size tree actually fits in our tiny living room.  He did a great job because the tree is perfect!

It took us a couple of days to get a chance to decorate the tree when the boys could help.  G was not that into the decorating thing. I basically forced him to put one ornament on and then put him to bed.  He was a crank!  Jack on the other hand really enjoyed the decorating this year.  He was lots of “help”!  It was difficult to keep him away from me when I strung the lights and ribbon for garland, but luckily he took suggestions of where to hang the ornaments well.  Our tree is pretty balanced.  No secret rearranging of ornaments took place at the Gianchetta household! 

It is hard to get pictures of our tree, but at least you can see it.  I actually love my decorations.  I’m one of the few people in the world who doesn’t like the miniature lights and sticks with the old school C7 lights.  Years ago my Mom and I found this amazing wire ribbon at Herbergers in Great Falls.  It works so well with the bigger lights.  This year our tree is small enough that we only put on our special ornaments.  It actually took little time to put up, so it should be easy to take down!  We are starting to get presents underneath it and so far no little fingers have unwrapped anything.  We will see how long that lasts!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

