Garrett

IMG_2852A lot has happened with Garrett during my blogging hiatus.  I am long overdue on a Garrett update! 

Garrett turned 1 on July 7th.  He celebrated a great Birthday by going to his first movie at a theatre, lunch out at Chipotle, Birthday gifts & cake, swimming at Pirate’s Cove and Japanese Hibachi for dinner.  It was a packed day!!  During the summer several movie theatres in the area provide free kids movies once or twice a week on first come first served basis.  I had really wanted to take the kids all summer but it turned out that the first time it worked with our schedule was on G’s Birthday.  Even better, the movie was Curious George.  I put a group together from my Mom’s group and we met several friends there.  The kids loved the movie.  IMG_2640Garrett watched, nursed and slept!  Jack liked the movie and behaved really well.  Unfortunately, the only picture I got was with G sleeping.  For his Birthday we got G a Little Tykes Bumble Bee ride on toy.  It is similar to the car that Jack has and he really likes it.  At first he just climbed in and out of it, but now that he has had it a few months he loves to drive it.  He makes great vroom sounds, honks the horn and motors all around the living room!  We did cake and presents in the late afternoon and then packed the kids up for an evening swim.  As usual we had a blast at the pool.  We hit Japanese hibachi on the way home and everyone konked out in the car.  It was a great day!

IMG_2781At his 12 month check up Garrett was 17 lbs 14 oz.  I can’t remember how tall he was, but in both instances he fell in about the 5% mark on the growth charts.  I don’t put much stock in these, but they are a bit of an annoyance for us.  Every appointment the peds want us to come back in a few weeks for a weight check to make sure Garrett is gaining.  The fact is, he is thriving.  He eats everything and more than any little man should.  He isn’t that big on breakfast but, man, he can really scarf down the lunch, snacks and dinner.  He also will eat just about anything.  The only thing he isn’t really crazy about is cereal (hot or cold).  Otherwise, he can eat!  I refuse to do weight checks on a kid who may be skinny but looks healthy and eats well!

Garrett is still nursing.  I night weaned him shortly after his Birthday.  I didn’t mind getting up once or twice a night to nurse, but after several days in a row of him not nursing all day long and then nursing all night long, I decided that it was time to night wean.  He was far too busy to be bothered with milk during the day but was happy to snack all night.  Mama’s not down with that schedule!  I occasionally cave and give him milk in the middle of the night…usually at Daddy’s insistence.  Travis can’t stand to hear him cry in the night when he knows G’s teeth are hurting.  When one is crying and one is telling me to comfort the poor kid, I can’t handle it.  I placate with the boob!  I have no intentions of weaning Garrett at this point.  I’d love for him to just self wean eventually.  It saddens me to think that we are likely on the downhill of our nursing DSCN0607relationship.  I love the time with him and the convenience of breastfeeding.  I also dread adjusting my parenting style.  When he weans, I won’t have my go to solution to crankiness, hunger, sadness and when he is just plain naughty and needs a break!  It is funny though.  My nursing style with Garrett is much different from what it was with Jack.  Garrett almost never nurses to sleep, generally snacks in clusters and isn’t always comforted by milk when he is hurt or angry.  He is my contortionist child who will crawl all over my body while still latched on and loves to walk up, pull at my shirt and attempt to get to the goods, and he quite easily nurses standing up if I am sitting on the floor.  Bizarre!

G has several words that he uses frequently and repeats tons of other ones.  His regular vocabulary consists of Jack (his first word!), Mama, Dada, D dog, please, thank you, more, eat, nana (used to be for food but now for milk), bed, hot dog  or hot diggiggity dog (which refers to Mickey Mouse because he loves the Hot Diggity Dog song on Mickey Mouse Clubhouse), ball (simply his favorite word and toy!), puck, hockey stick, that, avocado, beans, blueberry and train.  I’m sure there are more but those are all that come to mind now.  Garrett is doing well with signs too.  I’m not great at signing too many things but he picks up on what I sign to him.  He regularly signs eat, more, fan, light, toothbrush and airplane.  He actually used 2 new signs today– drink and danger.  We have really been working on drink.  He usually just fusses or yells at us for a drink, so we have been working hard on him using that sign.  This morning while we were at a local coffee shop he signed for a drink.  I was so happy.  He was so proud!  He also signed danger to me for the first time.  A little boy at the coffee shop was playing with his Mom’s cell phone and G was very concerned.  He was jabbering at the little boy and looking at me in dismay and then he started vigorously signing danger.  It was so cute.  He knew that kids aren’t supposed to have cell phones and he was distraught that no one was taking it away.  He just kept signing danger over and over.  It was so cute!  He is also our little jokester.  His new favorite thing to do when you change his diaper is to hold the powder.  Last week he was holding the powder in one hand and then starting signing and saying “eat, eat”.  Then he grabbed the powder, put it up to his mouth and made a glug, glug sound.  He pulled the powder down and laughed so hard.  I asked him if he was making a joke about eating powder.  He did it again and then just laughed.  He was so proud that he was making jokes.  Where do they come up with this at 14 months?!

Garrett has been off of his acid reflux meds for about a month.  He is doing fine.  We were almost out of meds and I couldn’t get a hold of the GI doc for a refill.  Trav suggested we go without and see what happened.  He seemed fine.  Not long after I started limited his, and my, dairy intake and he has been great.  No reflux issues and his skin is clearing up.  For the first time in his life he doesn’t have horrible cradle cap.  Who knew foods could cause so much trouble for some people???  We are slowly making our transition and it is going well.

IMG_2811Garrett continues to worship Jack.  They are quite the pair these days.  Half of the time they play so well together and the other half of the time is all trouble.  Jack is still too rough at times and Garrett is clearly an instigator in most situations.  Jack may have the upper hand but G always goes back for more.  The other day they boys were wrestling in the living room while I was in the kitchen and I kept telling them to stop.  I made Jack get up once and he told me “Look Mom, Garrett is fine.  He is laughing.  We are just wrestling.”  In seconds they were back on the floor rolling around.  I scolded them again and Jack’s reply as he was laying on top of his brother was “Mom, he’s okay.  He can breathe.”  Oh, great.  I feel so much better knowing my 3 year old isn’t suffocating my 1 year old, just potentially breaking his bones.  Geez!

IMG_2902So G is growing quickly, climbing everything and maturing faster than we can believe.  He is a lovey boy with a sweet smile.  A little munchkin who looks too small to be so mobile.  He laughs a lot, flies under the radar and has the potential to be our dry sense of humored boy.  He is so much fun and we are loving watching him grow and change!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

