Jack’s 2nd Birthday

Okay, so I’m super slow updating the blog.  Jack’s Birthday was the 19th and I’m just getting around to posting now.  Sorry Mimi & Papa!!

Jack’s Birthday was great.  His actual Birthday was pretty uneventful.  We went out to dinner at a hibachi restaurant.  The waitress took forever, so the dinner itself wasn’t all that enjoyable.  We got ice cream afterwards at DQ and then headed home to open presents.  I didn’t think Jack would even makeit home without falling asleep, but he surprised me.  He started by opening two puzzles that Mimi & Papa got for him.  They were the Melissa & Doug buckle puzzle and one that has zippers, buttons etc.  He loved them so much we could barely get him to open anything else.  Finally he opened his new Kettler Tricycle and his Tractor from Sis & Uncle Beau.  Honestly he was not that impressed with either of them until the next morning when he could go outside and really ride them.

Saturday was Jack’s party.  We rented out the soft play room at the rec center for the party.  Jack loves the soft play room and I loved the fact that I didn’t have to try to entertain all the toddlers and their parents!  All the kiddos got to play for an hour and then we headed out to playground to have cake at the picnic tables.  It was perfect.

Now for the cake.  I spent the better part of the week making Jack’s cakes.  Yes, plural as in two cakes.  What 2 year old gets two cakes?  Mine does when his Dad promises him he can have Lightening McQueen and Mater for his birthday cake.  Yikes!!!  It was a huge endeavor but I did it.  The McQueen cake was not so bad- I had a cake pan and directions to follow.  Mater, well that was another story.  Apparently there is no Mater cake pan, so I had the fun job of cutting the cake out freehand and decorating it entirely from a picture we copied off the internet.  It wouldn’t have been too bad except for the fact that Mater is a rusted tow truck with lots of colors.  Shading with frosting is a littletricky!  After staying up until 1:30am on Friday night, I finally finished both cakes.  I am really proud of how they turned out.  I’m not as good as Mimi at cake decorating, but if my kids keep picking difficult characters I will be soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jack’s 2nd Birthday

  1. Jen

    Oh my goodness – You FREE-HANDED this?

    You are my hero.

  2. I am SO impressed! I’m sorry we missed his birthday party. I guess that’s the downside to having Revie and Jack’s birthdays so close together!

Leave a Reply

